Home > Point2 - Technical > Windows 7, IntelliJ 9.0.*, and the Scala plugin

Windows 7, IntelliJ 9.0.*, and the Scala plugin

August 5, 2010

About a week ago I started having problems running tests in IntelliJ 9.0.1. I didn’t have many plugins installed, in fact, I only had one installed, the Scala plugin from JetBrains. After an update to the plugin and IntelliJ (to 9.0.2) whenever I would run tests the project failed to make, generating 100+ errors and 16 warnings. I contacted our helpdesk team, who installed 9.0.3 Ultimate Edition and still encountered the same errors. After a few hours trying to find the problem myself, I sought help from JetBrains.

As it turns out, I’m not the only person to experience this problem, and according to JetBrains the fix will require a patch for IntelliJ or the plugin itself; however during my correspondence with JetBrains, I found a fix myself.

First, go to http://www.scala-lang.org/downloads and download the latest version of Scala. Extract it, it doesn’t matter where you extract it to, because all you need is to have it somewhere on your computer.

In IntelliJ, click the Project Structure icon and select Facets under Project Settings. Click the “+” to expand the Scala Facet, and click to select Scala (importer). Check the box labeled “Use Scala compiler libraries from specified jars” and update the fields to resemble mine in the screenshot below.

Apply the changes, and you should be good to go.

By Chris Powell

