Home > Point2 - Technical > Why Pairing is Better

Why Pairing is Better

April 4, 2009

My wife and I plan our finances each month. We look at how much we spent in the previous month and why, and we project what we will spend in the upcoming month. It’s pretty lo-fi: A 20 column ledger and a spreadsheet. The ledger is always lying out and open so we can write in it as soon as we get home.

The spreadsheet is for calculations and planning. At regular intervals we sit down together, Wendy and I armed with our favorite tools. She relays the numbers from the ledger and I enter them into the spreadsheet. Wendy is focused on reading and relaying the numbers while I am focused on data entry. Once the numbers are in we quickly double-check just to be sure. The process takes less than 5 minutes for 40 – 60 entries.

This time Wendy did the data entry on her own. I asked how last month looked and she said “We spent a lot on groceries”. I happen to like eating so it’s not a big deal that we overspent, but it’s still nice to know why it happened. There is always a reasonable explanation. Meat is a major portion of the bill, and maybe we bought too many bags of frozen peas. Or maybe there is a mistake in the data.

Had we paired during the data entry we would have been assured that the entry was in fact correct and we could begin a meaningful analysis of our overspend. I am now forced to look back through the data in the ledger and ensure that it has been entered correctly. This will take more time because I will be switching tasks many times:

  1. Find the entry in the ledger
  2. Remember the value of the entry
  3. Move eyes from paper to spreadsheet
  4. Scan to find the corresponding entry in the spreadsheet
  5. Recall the value of the entry
  6. Verify the values

Compare these steps with those that I would do when pairing:

  1. Translate what Wendy said
  2. Verify that the value she relayed is correct in the spreadsheet

Yep, only 2 steps. I don’t have to keep switching focus from paper to monitor, nor must I remember any values. I just verify that the value she gave me is the value in the spreadsheet.

When I sat down to verify our numbers, the realization that pairing is much more effective (and arguably more efficient) hit me like a ton of spaghetti code. When you are working on complex tasks you are forced to make switches between contexts – the problem and the solution details. In my example the problem is incorrectly entered data, and the details are moving my eyes from paper to screen, then remembering and verifying values. When writing code the problem is the bug/story you are playing, and the details are language syntax, editor shortcuts, etc.

Now to the point. Imagine that you could offload one of the contexts and fully focus on the other. Wendy can focus on the problem (relaying the numbers) and I can focus on the details (data entry). When writing code the navigator is focused on the problem (satisfying acceptance criteria and design) while the driver is focused on technical details (syntax, shortcuts, stubs, tests…). It stands to reason that pairing prevents mistakes due to context switching, thus solving problems more thoroughly and with fewer mistakes.

P.S. – I asked Wendy to pair with me on the verification. Next time I won’t be so lazy and I’ll help her do the data entry in the first place 🙂

By: Ryan Shuya

Categories: Point2 - Technical Tags: , , ,
